About Us

The Madhya Pradesh Library Association established on 5th September 1959 under the Presidentship of Shri H.V. Patasker then Governer of Madhya Pradesh and Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma was First vice-President then Education Minister Government of Madhya Pradesh of Association, Madhya Pradesh Library Association(MPLA) is a non-profit organisation based in Madhya Pradesh that supports development in the entire field of librarianship. The MPLA undertakes supports, coordinate research and studies, conducts short term training courses; organises general/special meetings, and hold seminars and conferences in alternate years on current problems of Libraries and Librarians and other allied areas are selected as themes for discussions. It also gives consultancy to Libraries and Librarians to upgrade their Libraries. While the Association consistently strives to improve the standard services in all kinds of libraries, within its scope, systematic efforts are also being made to raise the emoluments and professional status of the library personnel. It brings together the library and information personnel in all kinds of government and non-government organizations. By so doing the MPLA speaks the professions a whole.

     Since its inception MPLA has been able to represent the interests of the qualified librarians working in different libraries, always with due foresight and objectivity, keeping in view the proper development of the libraries and library services in the state. For creating necessary public opinion in matters of policy relating to library and library service in the state, the Association has so far held several seminars and conferences to help the Government discuss and formulate policies relating to different aspects of library service. The achievements of MPLA spanning over a period of three decades of steady progress is well reflected in the developmental history of library movement in Madhya Pradesh. The Association has played a pivotal role in the scientific management and quality improvement of Library and Information System (LIS) in the State.



Dr Prabhat Pandey          Dr S K Pathak              Dr P K Tripathi                Mohd. Rehan              Dr. Arjun Singh          


Useful Links








Feedback Form

Joomla forms builder by JoomlaShine










Connect with us

       Manoj Mehar   
       Rajesh Kathane


     Sudhir Kumar Gupta





Image Gallery

© 2017 All Rights Reserved • Madhya Pradesh Library Association